Holocaust Survivor Day
June 24 Online Panels

In March, 2021, Holocaust scholar Michael Berenbaum and JCC Krakow Executive Director Jonathan Ornstein published an op-ed in The Jerusalem Post calling for the creation of a "Holocaust Survivor Day." In their words, "Holocaust survivors deserve a day of joy; a day of celebration. Not a day to share with condemnation of the Nazis, but a day to celebrate their lives they built in response to the Holocaust. Survivors represent the best in all of us, the best of the human spirit. They are our treasure and our light and we must shine that light into every dark corner of our world.” 

Holocaust Survivor Day is, at its essence, a day for and about Holocaust Survivors. We want to honor them and tell their stories; celebrate their lives and thank them for all they mean to the Jewish People.

 

You can find more details and RSVP links to all official Holocaust Survivor Day programs below. All of the June 24th panels will additionally be streamed live on the HSD website here:

HSD Opening Panel
Holocaust Survivor Day: Does the Jewish world need another holiday?

June 24th
12 PM EDT / 9 AM PDT / 6 PM CEST / 7 PM ISRAEL

Watch and join the opening panel of the inaugural Holocaust Survivor Day. The featured panelists will explore the origin and idea behind HSD, how survivors are being cared for, and the importance of the survivors and their legacy for the Jewish People and the world. Opening remarks will be provided by Ambassador Ronald S. Lauder, President, World Jewish Congress; Mark Wilf, Chair of the Board of Trustees, Jewish Federations of North America; Marcy Gringlas, Co-Founder and President, Seed the Dream Foundation;  Gideon Taylor, President, and Greg Schneider, Executive Vice President, Claims Conference.


Panelists:

  • Colette Avital, Chairperson, Center of the Organizations of Holocaust Survivors in Israel

  • Ulrika Citron, USC Shoah Foundation Next Generation Council member

  • Jonathan Ornstein, Executive Director, JCC Krakow; Founder, Holocaust Survivor Day

  • Rabbi Michael Paley, Senior Scholar at JDC & Tarbut Director

  • Stephen D. Smith, Andrew J. and Erna Finci Viterbi Executive Director Chair, USC Shoah Foundation
     

To register for the event, please click the button below. A Zoom link will be provided to all registered participants so they can join the conversation and ask questions during the panel.

Holocaust Survivor Panel:
Rebuilding life after the Shoah

A discussion panel with Holocaust survivors led by Dr. Michael Berenbaum on June 24th at 1pm EDT | 10am PDT | 7pm CEST
 
Join Dr. Michael Berenbaum, Director of the Sigi Ziering Institute, as he speaks to Holocaust survivors who have leveraged their vast life experience to help build community and inform change in the world around them. 

Panelists:
 

  • Stefanie Seltzer - Holocaust Survivor

  • Marian Turski - Holocaust Survivor

Second Generation Panel:
Being the child of Holocaust Survivors

A panel with children of Holocaust survivors on June 24th at 1pm EDT | 10am PDT | 7pm CEST

 
Join the panelists, all of whom are children of Holocaust survivors, as they discuss the stories and lessons learned from their parents, and what a day honoring survivors means to them.
 



Panelists:
 

Third Generation Panel:
Growing up with Holocaust Survivors as grandparents

A panel with grandchildren of Holocaust survivors on June 24th at 1pm EDT | 10am PDT | 7pm CEST
 

Join a special panel with grandchildren of Holocaust survivors who will reflect on time spent with their grandparents and advice they wish to pass along to younger generations. 
 



Panelists:
 

If you are interested in helping plan an event or workshop for your own local community, please see our list of suggested programs available here:

If you'd like to participate in HSD as an individual, we encourage you to celebrate and honor a survivor by reciting the Survivor Prayer at 8pm on June 24th